Make your own free website on


Managing the Forest

The organisation structure of the Kedah Forestry Department is divided into two divisions which are Forest Development Division and Forest Operations Division, also administration in the District Forest Offices. The responsibilities of these divisions are as follows:-

Forest Development Division

This division is responsible for forest management and silvicultural activities, preparation and implementation of Forest Management Plans, Working Plans and Annual Operational Plans.

Forest Operations Division

This division is responsible for the administration, co-ordination and liaison with the Forestry Department Headquarters and other State Departments and statutory bodies and agencies. Also responsible for revenue collection and law enforcement.

District Forest Offices

Responsible for district level administration, regulation of forest harvesting, revenue collection and law enforcement. Also responsible fo forest management and silvicultural activities at the district level.

The Department had a total staff strength of 434 including one Director, 2 Deputy Directors, 14 Senior Officers, 12 Rangers, 113 Foresters, 42 Assistant Administrators (Secretarial), 218 General Workers (Special) and 32 Drivers.

A View of Pedu Lake

Back to About the Department